Advisory Board

Dr. Pavel Hamet, M.D., Ph.D., C.S.P.Q., F.R.C.P. (C), F.C.A.H.S.

President of the Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Pavel Hamet holds a PhD in experimental medicine from McGill University. He is a licensed endocrinology specialist in Quebec (CSPQ) and since 1984 a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. He has been the Scientific Advisory Committee's President since 2000.

Dr. Hamet is Chief of Genetic Medicine Services, an associate member of Endocrinology Services, and Director of the Laboratory of Molecular Medicine at the Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM). From 1996 to 2006 he served as CHUM’s Director of Research. He is also a tenured Professor in the Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Medicine.

In addition, Dr. Hamet is the author or co-author of over 400 scientific publications and holds several international patents. He has served on many national and international advisory boards including the Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

In 1996, Dr. Hamet received the Distinguished Scientist Award from The Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation and the Canadian Cardiovascular Society's Achievement Award. In January 2000, he was awarded the Medal of Excellence in Medicine by the journal L’actualité médicale marking its twentieth anniversary. The Quebec Government paid homage to Dr. Hamet in 2001 by awarded him its most prestigious honour in medicine, the Wilder-Penfield Award.

Dr. Serge Carrière, O.C., M.D., F.R.C.P. (C)

Scientific Consultant

Dr. Serge Carrière is a specialist in internal medicine and nephrology, and former dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Université de Montréal (1989 - 1995). He has held several prestigious positions within the medical community.

A magna cum laude graduate of Université de Montréal, Dr. Carrière initially served as a Harvard University Research Fellow. From 1964 through 1988 he occupied various positions including Professor, Director of the Department of Physiology, and Director of the Department of Medicine, at Université de Montréal before being named Dean of the Faculty of Medicine in 1989.

Thereafter, Dr. Carrière served as Scientific Director, North America of Servier pharmaceuticals, after having occupied the positions of Vice-President of Clinical Research, President, and COO of Phoenix International Life Sciences.

Dr. Carrière is a member of several prominent medical and scientific associations and throughout his career has received numerous awards and honourable mentions. He was awarded the Order of Canada in 1998.

Dr. François-Marie Luquet, Dr ès science

Vice-President, Research

Dr. Luquet is an internationally renowned expert in the field of lactic bacteria. He holds a Doctorate ès Sciences degree in Microbiology from the Université de Caen, France.

Having studied dietetics, food bacteriology, and industrial engineering, Dr. Luquet has authored more than 200 scientific publications and technical works. Among his more recent publications are two reports entitled “Bactéries lactiques et probiotiques” and “Use of Lactic Bacteria in Fresh Dairy Products and Probiotic Effects”.

Dr. Luquet was Director of the Danone Group Research Center and for several years also served as Director of Development and Industrial Marketing for TRANSIA; a division of the Mérieux diagnostics Group, Furthermore, Dr. Luquet was Professor of Dairy Technology at École Nationale Supérieure des Industries Agricoles et Alimentaires (ENSIA).

Dr. Luquet also has worked extensively with European research organizations specializing in the dairy sector.

Khursheed N. Jeejeebhoy, M.D., F.R.C.P. (C), Ph.D.

Scientific Consultant

Gastroenterologist, Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto, and Director of Nutrition Support for St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto, Dr. Khursheed N. Jeejeebhoy has achieved an international reputation for his research in the fields of gastroenterology and nutrition.

Dr. Jeejeebhoy has published over 500 peer-reviewed articles, abstracts and book chapters. He sits on the editorial boards of nutritional journals and over the course of his career has been recognized with over 20 awards from Canada, USA and the UK. In 2001 he was elected as a senior member of the Canadian Medical Association.

His principal areas of focus are: assessment of nutritional status, particular nutritional requirements in the patient, the interaction between nutrition and disease, inflammatory bowel disease, malabsorption, and colon cancer. Dr Jeejeebhoy was chosen to receive the “Cuthbertson Lecture Award” by the European Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, for his ground-breaking work in Total Parenteral Nutrition.

Dr. Jeejeebhoy is currently directing a project on the effects of nutrients upon cytokines and proinflammatory apoptoses for the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

Jeffrey S. Borer, MD

Scientific Consultant

Dr. Jeffrey S. Borer is the Gladys and Roland Harriman Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Director of The Howard Gilman Institute for Valvular Heart Diseases, Chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Pathophysiology, and Professor of Radiology and Cardiothoracic Surgery at Weill Medical College, Cornell University. In addition he also serves as Chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Pathophysiology at New York Presbyterian Hospital.

As an esteemed faculty member of Cornell University, Dr. Borer oversees an interdisciplinary program in cardiovascular medicine involving clinical service, teaching and research.

Dr. Borer is Editor-in-Chief of Cardiology: International Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine, Surgery, Pharmacology and Pathology, and serves on the editorial boards of 10 other peer-reviewed journals. To date, he has authored or co-authored almost 400 articles, reviews, and book chapters, and four books, primarily on coronary disease, valvular disease, and heart failure.

Dr. Borer has received numerous national and international awards owing to his participation in editorial boards and standing committees of professional organizations, including among others, the USFDA and NASA. He is the current President of the Heart Valve Society of America.